Gabrielle Aplin @ The Toff

Lizzie Skyllas Photography @lizzieskyllas

Lizzie Skyllas Photography @lizzieskyllas

Entering the Toff, I saw that people of all genders and age had come to see English singer/song-writerGabrielle Aplin, many of which would have seen her when she toured with Ed Sheeran. I had never heard her play before, and was instantly impressed by her strong voice. There is a unique quality in an English singing voice and I found myself comparing hers to Elena Tonra from Daughter.

After the song finished, she asked the crowd “How are you all going?” to which somebody in the crowd replied “Good, but my phone died today”. This light hearted retort shows how intimate the toff is as a venue and was a great way to start the night.

She then played some sad songs, including Ring Around Roses. I thought the lyrics were a bit cliche, but Aplin could sing any song and make it sound beautiful and melodic.

When she sat down on the piano to sing the Power of Love, because she is short she disappeared behind the crowd. I found myself watching her from somebody else’s phone camera who was recording the whole thing over everybody in front of us.

 

Read the rest here! 

Leave a comment